NCG Reading Seminar

This is an informal reading seminar on noncommutative geometry organized by the group of master students, PhD students, postdocs and staff working on topics related to noncommutative geometry in Nijmegen. It forms a platform where we share with each other our ideas, projects, problems, papers, etc.

We meet on Tuesday afternoons (15:30-16:30) in the (former) Hilbert space (HG03.085).

Schedule 

Tuesday October 22, 2019. Rui Dong – Spectral action and the second quantization.

Tuesday May 7, 2019. Debashish Singh – Extracting Lorentzian structure from Euclidean fermionic action in noncommutative geometry.

Past seminars

Tuesday April 9, 2019. Ali Chamseddine – Mimetic Gravity and Dark Matter (in HG00.108).

Tuesday April 2, 2019. Ali Chamseddine – Noncommutative Geometry and Particle Physics: Unification (in HG00.622).

Tuesday March 26, 2019. Ali Chamseddine – Noncommutative Geometry and Particle Physics: Introduction (in HG00.622, reception afterwards).

Tuesday March 19, 2019. Luuk Verhoeven – Embedding the circle in the plane in unbounded KK-theory II.

Tuesday March 12, 2019. Luuk Verhoeven – Embedding the circle in the plane in unbounded KK-theory I.

Tuesday February 26, 2019. Walter van Suijlekom – Spectral triples and Gromov-Hausdorff convergence.

Tuesday January 22, 2019. John Barrett – Fuzzy non-commutative geometries.

Tuesday January 15, 2019 Luuk Verhoeven – Embedding the circle in the plane (final presentation MSc thesis, in HG00.068)

Tuesday December 18, 2018. Nesta van der Schaaf – Lie groupoids

Tuesday December 4, 2018. Nesta van der Schaaf – Lie groupoids

Tuesday November 27, 2018. Teun van Nuland – KK-theory in physics

Tuesday November 20, 2018. Jeroen Winkel – Fundamental groups

Tuesday November 13, 2018. Abel Stern – K-homology

Tuesday November 6, 2018. Abel Stern – K-theory

Tuesday October 30, 2018. Lisa Glaser – Simulating random non-commutative geometries.

Tuesday October 23, 2018. Tey Berendschot – Connes’ distance formula in noncommutative geometry. 

Tuesday October 16, 2018. Luuk Verhoeven – Hearing the shape of a drum.

Tuesday October 2, 2018. Walter van Suijlekom – Dirac operators and spectral triples.